Your Lady Knight

Standard

She’s my best friend, practically my sister; after my family, she’s the most important person to me, so I just want to tell you: don’t hurt her. Keep her happy. Don’t hurt her, because if you do I will hunt you down.

I’ve never threatened a friend’s boyfriend before. I’ve never needed to, or actually, I’ve never felt the need to do so. I haven’t really seen many relationships among my friends, and I was always friends with both parties, who had been friends beforehand. So I never needed to interfere, and moreover, I always knew that the relationship in question wasn’t going to last, either because it was unequal, or just plain unhealthy. In one case, I honestly never cared to make threats about either’s emotional damage, because you threaten to hurt people who hurt part of you, and the two in question were never that. In the other, I suppose that, in preventing long-term damage, I was the deliberate cause of a lot of pain (though I wouldn’t be so arrogant as to claim full responsibility), and sometimes I wonder if I should feel sorry. But I never asserted that if one was hurt, I would make the other suffer. The harsh truth would be that I didn’t consider it necessary.

This, though… this was different.

It wasn’t just that the person in question is more than my friend, my sister. It’s the crippling fear I feel that someone will play her false, that they will take the gentle heart she gives them and do something unspeakable to it. Shubh shubh bolo, a voice that sounds eerily like my mother’s scolds, but then I remember how that very mother is driven by that very fear every time I set foot outside the house. My grandmother, during one of my complaining sessions, told me that when I have my own children, I will understand my mother. Seems like I won’t need to wait that long.

Living in a different city, distance and bitter reality prevent me from holding my best friend in my arms when one of us needs it. So I settle for preventive warning. Because if, God forbid, if my warnings are ignored, then they will come true.

You’re my knight in shining armour, aren’t you? And her voice is amused.
Of course, I say, and I am amused and dead, dead serious. Of course.


Shubh shubh bolo- Hindi for ‘say good things’. It’s like ‘Be positive’.

2 thoughts on “Your Lady Knight

Leave a Reply

